I saw on 24-Hour News 8  in Indianapolis this morning that Indiana House Democrats still have no intention of coming back to work anytime soon and that threats to increase fines (or, if I remember correctly, garnish wages) doesn’t bother them.  Let’s not forget the voices of their constituents who are telling them to get back to work.  No.  None of that matters.  So, my question is, where is their confidence coming from?  My guess would be the unions. 

            I, myself, received a union email on Friday asking me to contact local House Democrats in Urbana, Illinois and let them know that I appreciate them being there and “standing up for public education.”  I can’t help but wonder if we shouldn’t instead thank them for standing for the teachers union because I don’t know that this is really about public education—at least not to the Democrats.  It seems most of the teachers in the union are genuinely concerned about the legislation and are falling into a union trap.  One teacher personally said to me last week that she felt Republicans had betrayed her.  She said that she had always considered herself a conservative voter and had always voted mainly Republican, although she was more Independent.  “After this,” she informed me, “I’ll be voting straight Democrat from now on.”

You can’t tell me that the Democrats aren’t milking this for all it’s worth—right along with the union.  In a recent post, I questioned whether or not the protesting and the Democrat walkout had all been planned. It seemed odd to me that as far back as 2009 the NEA would be recommending that Association Representatives (grassroots organizers) read Saul Alinsky’s Rules for Radicals.  There were also other reasons to believe this was planned.  Just read the post.

            If all that isn’t enough evidence, I was recently able to hear District 29 State Senator Mike Delph speak at an event.  The subject of the walkout came up, and Senator Delph referred to it as a tyrannical hijacking of democracy.  For any other Indiana worker, that would be considered job abandonment, which would result in job loss.  He then stated that he felt the walkout had been well orchestrated and planned by the ISTA (Indiana State Teachers Association) possibly since as far back as Oct. 2010.  I don’t know whether or not he’s correct or what information he has to make that claim, but considering everything else, it doesn’t seem too far-fetched. 

            This weekend I spoke with someone who works very closely on a second job with one of the absent Democrats, and I asked how this representative was able to miss work for so long.  This person told me that, basically, the rules of the job don’t always apply to that politician.  Perhaps that’s the case with the other House Democrats.  Perhaps they’re so used to special treatment that they think it’s okay to miss work for a month and hold up everyone’s life instead of going to work like a responsible adult and getting something done.  Senator Delph told his audience that if they have to go into a special session because of the absence, every day of that session will cost taxpayers thousands of dollars.  I’m not okay with that.  If I thought this were really about public education, perhaps things would be different; I don’t know.  But all the evidence points to a political game that I’m not happy funding with my union dues or my taxpayer dollars.

