On Friday I made babysitting arrangements so I could go to my first legislative event later this month.  After the shooting of Arizona Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords yesterday, some have voiced concern that perhaps I shouldn’t go because these events could be dangerous and there could be copycat shootings.  House Speaker John Boehner made the comment that congress can’t let acts like these stop them from fulfilling their duties to the American people (that’s paraphrased, of course).  Likewise, I think that we everyday citizens can’t let these acts keep us from fulfilling our duties to our representatives.  We can’t forget that they work for us, and therefore we have a duty to meet with them and inform of what we need them to do.  My prayers go out to all those involved in the shooting, and I hope that all those planning to attend similar events won’t let fear stand in the way.

